Thyroid 

The thyroid is a small butterfly-shaped gland located at the base of the neck that is responsible for producing certain hormones. It is responsible for our entire metabolism, if its activity slows down, symptoms can affect the whole body: fatigue, coldness, bloating, fertility problems, memory problems, edema, difficulty losing weight, constipation, depression, etc.

  • The diseases

It is estimated that 200 million people worldwide are affected by some form of thyroid disease and that women are affected 5 to 7 times more than men. These diseases include Basedow’s disease, thyroiditis, benign or cancerous nodule, goiter, etc. Hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism are the most common. They are diagnosed by palpation of the neck and a blood test according to the symptoms.

  • What affects our thyroid?

Stress, a low-calorie diet, pollution, contraception, deficiencies, immunity problems, etc. can all cause a thyroid disorder. All of these can cause a thyroid disorder.

  • Treatment

Medicinal treatments can be prescribe to control its activity, in case of doubt, talk to your GP.

Naturopaths and dieticians can also help by suggesting a diet that supports thyroid activity.
Many foods provide essential nutrients for thyroid hormone production and action at the cell receptor level. To name but a few:

Selenium: Brazil nuts, goji berry, calf’s liver. Red meat, mackerel, oysters, mussels, eggs
Zinc: oysters, offal, red meat, egg yolk, raw cocoa, pumpkin seeds, oats, cheese, wholemeal bread
Iodine: shellfish, sea fish, algae, eggs. Shellfish, cod liver oil, dairy products (yogurt, Emmental)

 

This information is not a substitute for medical advice. You must seek the advice of your doctor or another qualified health professional with any questions you may have regarding your health condition.

General medicine

Our news

La thyroïde 

La thyroïde est une petite glande en forme de papillon située à la base du cou qui est chargée de produire certaines hormones. Elle est responsable de tout notre métabolisme, c’est pour cette raison que si son activité ralentie, des symptômes peuvent affecter l’organisme tout entier : Fatigue, frilosité, ballonnements, soucis de fertilité, troubles de la mémoire, œdème, difficulté à perdre du poids, constipation, dépression, etc.

  • Les maladies

On estime que 200 millions de personnes dans le monde sont affectées par une forme de maladie thyroïdienne et que les femmes le sont 5 à 7 fois plus que les hommes. Parmi ces maladies, on trouve la maladie de basedow, la thyroïdite, le nodule bénin ou cancéreux, le goitre… L’hypothyroïdie et l’hyperthyroïdie restent cependant les plus courantes. On les diagnostique à l’aide d’une palpation du cou et d’une prise de sang en fonction des symptômes.

  • Qu’est-ce qui affecte notre thyroïde ?

Le stress, un régime hypocalorique, la pollution, la contraception, les carences, problème d’immunité, etc. Tous ces éléments peuvent causer un trouble thyroïdien.

  • Le traitement

Des traitements médicamenteux permettent de contrôler son activité, en cas de doute, parlez-en à votre médecin géneraliste.

Le naturopathe et le diététicien peuvent également intervenir en proposant une alimentation favorable à l’activité de la thyroïde.
En effet, certains aliments vont apporter des nutriments essentiels à la production des hormones thyroïdiennes et à leur action au niveau des récepteurs cellulaires, et ils sont nombreux. Pour n’en citer que quelques-uns :

Le sélénium : noix du Brésil, baie de goji, foie de veau. Viande rouge, maquereau, huîtres, moules, œufs
Le zinc : huître, abats, viande rouge, jaune d’œuf, cacao cru, graine de courge, avoine, fromage, pain complet
L’iode : coquillage, poisson de mer, algues, œufs. Crustacés, huile de foie de morue, laitages (yaourt, emmental)

 

Ce contenu d’information ne saurait en aucune manière se substituer à un avis médical. Il est impératif de demander conseil à votre médecin ou autre professionnel de santé qualifié pour toute question se rapportant à votre état de santé.

Médecine générale

Nos actualités